Hawks present athletic awards

by | May 18, 2018 | Articles, Triton

Major award winners at the Triton athletic banquet are pictured above. From left are Allure Smith, Corey Dean, Sarah Phillips, Latrell McDougald, Megan Pope, De’Marius Staton, Kathryn Elliott, Christion Green, Ana-Beth Brewer, Ahmad Musleh and Daughtry Williams
(Dunn Area Sports Photo/Paul Burgett)

Triton held its athletic awards program on Thursday evening following the Hawks’ first season in the Tri-County Six 3-A Conference in the auditorium after a catered meal in the cafeteria.

Hawk Pride Booster Club President Dana Phillips provided the welcome.

Athletic director Wendy Simmons had a moment of silence for former Triton coach and principal Dan Honeycutt during recognition of guests.

The major honors included the Scholastic Awards to Megan Pope for the girls and Holden Carraway for the boys, the Bobby Tart Coaches Award to Sarah Phillips for the girls and Latrell McDougald for the boys and the Charles Whitney Bradham Sportsmanship Award to Allure Smith for the girls and Corey Dean for the boys.

Also, the Bill Tart Most Versatile Awards were presented to Ana-Beth Brewer (girls) and Christion Green and the Bill Boyette Best All-Around Awards went to Daughtry Williams (girls) and Ahmad Musleh.

The Athletes of the Year recipients were Kathryn Elliott and De’Marius Staton.

Awards were presented in individual sports as summarized in the photos below:

From left are volleyball award winners, Sophie Salzman, most valuable offense; Cheyenne Hensley, most valuable playmaker; Meredith Morris, most valuable defense and Grace Gaines, best all-around.
(Dunn Area Sports Photo/Paul Burgett)

Girls tennis award winners are, from left, Hayden Smith, Lindsey Malone and Daughtry Williams. (Dunn Area Sports Photo/Paul Burgett)

From left in girls golf are Lana Klein (rookie of year), Ana-Beth Brewer (most improved) and Kathryn Elliott (MVP). (Dunn Area Sports Photo/Paul Burgett)

In cross country from left are Emma Mitchell (girls coach’s award), Ahmad Musleh (boys MVP) and coach Philip Abruscato. Not pictured are Landon Peregoy (boys coach’s award) and Billie Kate Pope (girls MVP).
(Dunn Area Sports Photo/Paul Burgett)

Boys soccer winners are, from left, Ahmad Musleh (sportsmanship), Gage Smith (Tri-County Six 3-A Conference Offensive Player of the Year and Triton Golden Boot — 25 goals), Kevin Canales (defensive award) and Jose Ramos (captain’s award). (Dunn Area Sports Photo/Paul Burgett)

Football award winners include, from left, Da’John Williams (running back award), Darius Benton (performance of the year), Corey Dean (coach’s award), Christion Green (Iron Hawk), De’Marius Staton (Iron Hawk) and Latrell McDougald (captain’s award). Not pictured is Cross Barker, lineman of the year. (Dunn Area Sports Photo/Paul Burgett)

Cheerleading award winners are, from left, Ocean Bailey (best leader). Micah Williams (coach’s award) and Jacy Hartman (team player). Not pictured is Mikayla Cameron, most spirit. (Dunn Area Sports Photo/Paul Burgett)

Jarrell Cowan was named co-most valuable wrestler. Not pictured are Mike Carvin (most improved) and Tyre Cameron (co-most improved). (Dunn Area Sports Photo/Paul Burgett)

In swimming, Marcus Tart received the coach’s award for boys. Not pictured are Mackenzie Reid (girls coach’s award), Scotty Temple (girls MVP) and Josiah Bailey (boys MVP). Dunn Area Sports Photo/Paul Burgett)

Latrell McDougald won the Hawk Award in boys basketball. Not pictured are Terry Cooney, who won the Pat McNeill perseverance award and Maurice Williams, who won the sparkplug award.
(Dunn Area Sports Photo/Paul Burgett)

Carson Smith (left) was most improved in boys golf and Lee Bass was MVP. Not pictured are Cam Brown (coach’s award) and Ashton Wood (rookie of the year). (Dunn Area Sports Photo/Paul Burgett)

From left girls soccer award winners include Darby Shea (defense), Ana-Beth Brewer (Golden Boot — 13 goals) and Kiana McNeill (Hawk Heart). Not pictured is Mona Sango sportsmanship).
(Dunn Area Sports Photo/Paul Burgett)

Spring track winners are, from left, Nacora Campbell (best girls sprinter), De’Marius Staton (boys throws), Christion Green (boys hurdles/jumps) and Sarah Phillips (girls hurdles/jumps). Not pictured are Jacolia Watford (girls middle distance), Emmelie Obregon (girls distance) and Maurice Williams (boys middle distance). (Dunn Area Sports Photo/Paul Burgett)

Softball award winners are, from left, Brittany Ireland (coach’s award), Gracyn Slaughter (rookie of the year), Allure Smith (sportsmanship), Hayden Smith (defensive player of the year), Kaila Cooney (offensive player of the year) and Haley Hicks (coach’s award).
(Dunn Area Sports Photo/Paul Burgett)

Baseball award winners are, from left, Colton Neighbors (offensive MVP), Dalen Thompson (rookie of the year), Zy McDougald (King of the Hill) and Grayson Bradham (defensive MVP). (Dunn Area Sports Photo/Paul Burgett)

Award winners in boys tennis are, from left, Isaac Hardy (most improved), Riley Adkins (MVP) and Guy Barefoot (coach’s award). Not pictured is Lawson Godwin (rookie of the year). (Dunn Area Sports Photo/Paul Burgett)



WCKB Gospel 780 AM - 102.7 FM

“For The Boys”

– Tom Double

John Lucas