Hawks recognize top 2023 performers in football

by | Jan 13, 2024 | Triton

Triton football award winners are, from left, Michael McNeill (Defensive Lineman of the Year), Michael Cole (Coaches Award), Caleb Smith (Coaches Award), Davion Carroll (Defensive Back of the Year), Camauri McDougald (Clayton White Iron Hawk Award), J.J, Cowan (Warren-Stacker Offensive Player of the Year), A.J. Dewar (Linebacker of the Year), Damion Barfield (Offensive Lineman of the Year), Logan Morgan (Eddie Crabtree Sr. Heart of a Champion Award) and Jamal Shaw (LeVance McQueen Defensive Player of the Year).

The Triton varsity football team recognized standouts from the 2023 season at a banquet at the Dunn Community Center on Thursday night.

Each individual sport for the Hawks is honoring athletes separately this school year. There will be an athletic banquet for all sports in May.

The Hawks were 6-5 in 2023 and earned a berth in the NCHSAA 3-A playoffs.

Hawks running back J.J. Cowan was Offensive MVP for the East in a 35-7 win over the West in the annual North Carolina Coaches Association All-Star game in Greensboro last month.

Cowan was presented the Warren-Stacker Offensive Player of the Year award for Triton.

The award winners are pictured above.



WCKB Gospel 780 AM - 102.7 FM

“For The Boys”

– Tom Double

John Lucas