Prayers answered for Peregoy, CFCA presents winter athletic awards

by | Mar 2, 2020 | Cape Fear Christian Academy

Landon Peregoy waves to well-wishers in Erwin as he comes home.
(Dunn Area Sports Photo/Barbara Myatt)

Karen Parker, Cape Fear Christian Academy head of school, offered a prayer for Landon Peregoy with the blessing at the winter sports athletic banquet on Thursday evening in the school gym.

The prayers from Mrs. Parker and many others were answered as Peregoy came home the following afternoon after treatment at Duke Hospital for a heart attack sustained at baseball practice on Feb. 12. He was welcomed by well-wishers as he received a police escort past the fire department in Erwin

Presentations for varsity cheerleading led off the awards portion after the gathering enjoyed a meal of chicken and barbecue provided by Shane and Chauntel Summers. The Encouragement Award went to Anslee McLamb, the Newcomer Award went to Averi Williams, Jolie Hensley received the Coach’s Award and Reyna Johnson was varsity cheerleading MVP.

The Eaglets and middle school cheerleaders were recognized with certificates and medals.

In girls swimming, coach Shannon George presented the Coach’s Award to Ginger Barclay and the MVP to Ruby George, a ninth-grader who had a sixth-place finish in the state meet. H2O medals went to Ava Trainer and Ava Morrow.

In boys swimming, Kurt Hansel won the Coach’s Award and Spencer George was the MVP. George was presented a bronze medal for a third-place finish in the state meet. Camden George, Charles Spradley and Gabe Motschenbacker received H2O medals.

In middle school boys basketball, coach Aaron Hardy presented the Most Improved to Tony Cornette-McGuire, the Defensive Award to Elijah Ellis and the MVP to Wyatt Medlin.

The middle school girls basketball team, coached by Hardy, was runner-up in the Southeastern Conference in the regular-season and tournament. Perri Caroline Ennis was named Offensive Player of the Year, Madeline Brocious was Defensive Player of the Year and Ella John Dupree was MVP.

The junior varsity boys basketball team, coached by Dwain Ellis, was runner-up in the Sandhills Athletic Conference tournament. David Okropiridze was named the Defensive Player of the Year, Deshawn Woods was the Top Scorer and Zeke Brock was MVP.

Varsity boys basketball coach Bobby Lamb presented Meghan Taylor with the Sportsmanship Award, Meredith Taylor with the Defensive Player Award and MVP to Zykia Matthews. All-conference plaques went to Matthews and Kristen Bass. Matthews was on all-tournament teams for the Robeson County Shootout and the Sandhills Athletic Conference.

In varsity boys basketball, coach Kalen Eddings presented the Teammate Award to Parker Watson, the Captain’s Award to Eli O’Brien and Co-Coach’s Awards to Alijah Miles and Greg Moneymaker. Jamael Carter and Jeremyiah McWilliams received all-conference plaques.

Athletic director Al Myatt gave the closing, noting that winter sports improved across the board from the previous year as the Eagles transition to spring sports.

Varsity cheer award winners were, from left, Averi Williams, Jolie Hensley, Reyna Johnson and Anslee McLamb.
(Dunn Area Sports Photo/Barbara Myatt)

From left, major award winners in swimming were Kurt Hansel, Spencer George, Ginger Barclay and Ruby George.
(Dunn Area Sports Photo/Barbara Myatt)

Wyatt Medlin (left) and Toby Cornette-McGuire were recognized in middle school boys basketball. (Dunn Area Sports Photo/Barbara Myatt)

In the foreground are middle school coaches Bill Parrish and Aaron Hardy presenting conference trophies to Karen Parker, CFCA head of school. Athletic director Al Myatt is behind the group.
(Dunn Area Sports Photo/Barbara Myatt)

Award winners in middle school girls basketball are, from left, Madeline Brocious, Ella John Dupree and Perri Caroline Ennis.
(Dunn Area Sports Photo/Barbara Myatt)

Junior varsity boys basketball coach Dwain Ellis with the Sandhills tournament runner-up trophy. (Dunn Area Sports Photo/Barbara Myatt)

From left are junior varsity boys basketball award winners Zeke Brock, David Okropiridze and Deshawn Woods. (Dunn Area Sports Photo/Barbara Myatt)

Award winners in varsity girls basketball are, from left, Zykia Matthews, Meghan Taylor, Kristen Bass and Meredith Taylor.
(Dunn Area Sports Photo/Barbara Myatt)

From left are Parker Watson, Alijah Miles, Eli O’Brien, Greg Moneymaker, Jamael Carter and Jeremyah McWilliams, award winners in varsity boys basketball. (Dunn Area Sports Photo/Barbara Myatt)


WCKB Gospel 780 AM - 102.7 FM

“For The Boys”

– Tom Double

John Lucas